//
you're reading...
Islam & Science

Life from Water

A green version of http://commons.wikimedia.or...

Image via Wikipedia

The belief that life came from water predates Islam. The ancient Greeks believed that life came from water. For example, in Metaphysics, Aristotle records that Thales (62? BCE – 546 BCE) believed ‘that it [the nature of things] is water’ and Anaximander (611 BCE – 547 BCE) stated that life came from the sea.

One interesting thing with the above passage from the Qur’an is it clear contradiction to other passages in the Qur’an. For example:

(15:28)

YUSUFALI: Behold! thy Lord said to the angels: “I am about to create man, from sounding clay from mud moulded into shape;

PICKTHAL: And (remember) when thy Lord said unto the angels: Lo! I am creating a mortal out of potter’s clay of black mud altered,

SHAKIR: And when your Lord said to the angels: Surely I am going to create a mortal of the essence of black mud fashioned in shape.

(17:61)

YUSUFALI: Behold! We said to the angels: “Bow down unto Adam”: They bowed down except Iblis: He said, “Shall I bow down to one whom Thou didst create from clay?”

PICKTHAL: And when We said unto the angels: Fall down prostrate before Adam and they fell prostrate all save Iblis, he said: Shall I fall prostrate before that which Thou hast created of clay?

SHAKIR: And when We said to the angels: Make obeisance to Adam; they made obeisance, but Iblis (did it not). He said: Shall I make obeisance to him whom Thou hast created of dust?

YUSUFALI: Behold, thy Lord said to the angels: “I am about to create man from clay:

PICKTHAL: When thy Lord said unto the angels: Lo! I am about to create a mortal out of mire,

SHAKIR: When your Lord said to the angels; Surely I am going to create a mortal from dust:

Man made from clay not water? Or is man not a “living thing”?

Compiled By – OurBangla.com

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Bjorn EnFiddle

I used to believe in Islam and recite the Quran without knowing a single meaning of the words. Today I am an apostate of Islam, and today i read the Quran and Hadith to know more about Islam. The more I learn the more I hate Islam. I do not believe in a god who has emotional problems over the actions of humans. I do not believe in a god who would ask to kill, and treat women like a sex toy.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

